Singapore Prize Winners and Shortlists Announced

singapore prize

For the first time in the history of the Singapore prize, a writer has been shortlisted in more than one category. Clara Chow was named the winner of the English Literature category, and also made the shortlist in Chinese Poetry and English Creative Nonfiction.

Each winner in the 12 categories receives a cash prize of S$3,000. They also get a special hand-crafted trophy and a 12-month gift code to audiobook platform StoryTel. The top three winners in each of the categories will also get to visit Harvard University in Boston, which is home to 48 Nobel Laureates and 32 heads of state.

The winners will be celebrated in a series of events at the end of November and December, with a focus on resonance and how literature can trigger memories and emotions. The event will bring together global leaders, businesses and investors to explore exciting opportunities with the 2023 Earthshot Prize Winners and Finalists to accelerate solutions for a damaged planet.

Despite having never participated in any competitive games before, Selvam Arumugam, 42, walked away with the grand prize of S$10,000 at this year’s annual dinner-and-dance. The migrant worker from heavy vehicle leasing firm Pollisum Engineering works as a rigger and signalman, tasked with inspecting and maintaining cranes and lifting equipment. He said the S$10,000 is equivalent to about one and a half years worth of salary.

In the popular Readers’ Favourite award, four writers beat out their competition to lay claim to the title: Ali bin Salim, Daryl Qilin Yam, Pan Zheng Lei (Pan Cheng Lui) and rmaa cureess (Rama Suresh). More than 4,000 people voted in this round of consumer voting, roughly double the number that cast votes in 2020.

The prestigious prize, a scholarship of up to $80,000 per year, has been awarded for the past two decades to students from Singapore and the region who have demonstrated “intellectual curiosity, creative vision and an unwavering commitment to social progress.” Previous recipients include prominent philanthropists, academicians and entrepreneurs. The programme is a partnership between the government and the private sector. It is based on the philosophy that a healthy civil society requires individuals who put the common good before their own interests. The awards were established to honour the late Christopher Bathurst KC, who was a partner at Fountain Court Chambers in London and developed a substantial practice in Southeast Asia. He was the author of the leading case of Caparo v Dickman 2 AC 605 and a popular cross-bench member of the House of Lords. His legacy has continued through hacksingapore and its community of students who seek novel pathways to a sustainable world while prioritising the needs of individuals.