The Sidney Prize and the Iwanter Prize

The Sidney Prize celebrates the long form: an essay, an op-ed, a story that takes on a difficult subject, or a report that digs deep into injustice. The prizes stand athwart technology, yelling “stop,” and honor work that takes the time to get to the heart of an issue.

The Sydney Prize is a memorial to Dartmouth College professor Sidney Cox, known for his literary talent and ability to encourage students to pursue their dreams. The prize is given annually to a piece of undergraduate writing that most nearly meets the high standards of originality and integrity Cox set for himself and for his students in his teaching and in his book, Indirections for Those Who Want to Write. The prize is open to all students, regardless of major or minor. The winning manuscript will be judged by a single member of the committee, who will not be from Hanover.

Established by a gift from the Committee of the Sydney Mechanics’ School of Arts, this prize is awarded to the student in the English honors program whose overall thesis and work best explores feelings through language. The award is voted on by the faculty at the end of each academic year.

Awarded in memory of the distinguished philosopher and Phi Beta Kappa member, this prize commemorates national distinction in scholarship, teaching, and leadership in liberal arts education. The winner is selected at the Society’s Triennial Council Meeting and will be announced in advance of the meeting in the Key Reporter and the General Newsletter.

The Iwanter Prize is an unrestricted award for a graduating senior who, through a senior thesis and general academic distinction, demonstrates outstanding humanities-based scholarship of a broad and interdisciplinary nature. The prize was endowed by a gift to the University from alumnus Sidney E. Iwanter (B.A. History, 1971). Iwanter was a Madison native who had an abiding curiosity and a desire to document the knowledge of previous generations; as a result, he secretly recorded many of his lectures.

The prestigious Sydney Peace Prize, named for Australia’s most famous harbour, honours leading global voices that promote peace, justice, and nonviolence. The prize is given with the generous support of the City of Sydney, and past laureates have included Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Mary Robinson, Joseph Stiglitz, Patrick Dodson, and Naomi Klein. The 2023 Sydney Peace Prize will be awarded to Iranian-born actress and activist Nazanin Boniadi for her commitment to advancing women’s rights in Iran. Find out more here.