The Sidney Prize for Investigative Journalism

sidney prize

The Sidney Prize is a monthly journalism award given out by The Sidney Hillman Foundation to “outstanding investigative journalism in service of the common good.” The Sidney Prize focuses on deeply reported investigative work that has impact.

It is awarded to journalists who illuminate the great issues of our times, from the search for a basis for lasting peace to the need for better housing, medical care and employment for all people. It is also awarded to journalists who have been committed to a free and fair press.

In addition to the Sidney Prize, The Sidney Hillman Foundation awards several other prizes every year. One such prize is the Sol Stetin Labor History Award, which recognizes a distinguished labor historian who has made an important contribution to the field.

Professor Emeritus of History Eric Foner, who specializes in the American Civil War, is the 2022 recipient of the Sol Stetin Labor History Award. A major scholarly force in the field, Foner is one of the most respected historians of the United States.

The DeWitt Clinton Professor of History at Columbia University, he has studied the history of the American labor movement, especially the Civil War, and he has published many books on that topic.

He has devoted much of his professional life to researching and writing about the lives of working people, and his research has reshaped the way Americans think about their nation’s history.

There are a number of ways to participate in the Sidney Prize, including by becoming a judge or sponsoring a student who may be eligible for the prize. Those who are interested can email their name, phone number and a brief statement of why they would like to participate in the Sidney Prize (no more than 500 words) to [email protected].

In addition to a monetary award, the winner of the Sidney Prize will be invited to present their work at a Hillman Foundation event. The Foundation will host an in-person event with limited capacity and Covid-19 precautions on May 3-2022 at 6:00 p.m.

The Sydney Film Festival has revealed the winners of its top prize, the Sydney Film Prize, which went to Belgian director Lukas Dhont’s Close. The film, which won the Grand Prix at Cannes last month, picked up the award on Sunday evening. The international jury, which included actors David Wenham and Jennifer Peedom, as well as Berlin Golden Bear winner Semih Kaplanoglu, described Close as “a mature film about innocence,” adding that it displayed a mastery of restraint, subtle handling of story, astute observations and delicate attention to finer details.

It was a big night for Australian directors, too. Luke Cornish’s documentary Keep Stepping, about two women training for a street dance competition in Sydney, took the Documentary Australia Award. It was a long project for the filmmaker, who wrote it with producer Philip Busfield, and it won a AUD$10,000 cash prize.

In other awards, the Sydney-UNESCO City of Film Award was won by composer Caitlin Yeo for her work on the animated short Donkey. Another Dendy Award was won by the indigenous animation The Moths Will Eat Them Up.