The Sidney Prizes

sidney prize

There are many individuals who work hard to make a difference for humanity. Whether they are writers or activists, their efforts deserve to be recognized. This is why there are a number of sidney prize awards that are available to them. These prizes can be incredibly rewarding and serve to inspire others to follow in their footsteps. However, they also come with specific rules and regulations that must be followed to ensure that the winner is eligible.

The Sydney Prize is an acclaimed award that was created as an acknowledgement for those who are working tirelessly towards their dreams. It has since become a worldwide symbol of prestige. Winners of this prize are given substantial amounts of money that they can use for their future plans, or to promote science – particularly biology and medicine – among the general population.

A number of different Sydney Prizes are awarded each year, with the winners being determined by a panel of judges. The judges are carefully selected each year to ensure that the judging process is fair and transparent and does not have any conflicts of interest. Moreover, the judges are chosen to represent a wide range of backgrounds and perspectives, ensuring that each submission receives careful consideration.

In order to commemorate the generative influence that Professor Sidney Cox exerted on hundreds of Dartmouth students both inside and outside his classes, this prize honors undergraduate writing that most closely adheres to his high standards of originality and integrity. Sophia Jactel of Art History won this year’s prize for her paper entitled “Domesticity and Diversions: Josef Israels’ Smoker as a Symbol of Peasant Culture and Home in Nineteenth-Century Holland.”

The Hillman Prize was established in 1950 to honor journalists who pursue investigative reporting and deep storytelling to advance the public good. The award is administered by the Hillman Foundation, which is a left-leaning organization whose leadership includes Workers United president emeritus Bruce Raynor and SEIU’s Danny Glover. The winners of the prize are selected monthly based on discernment of a significant news story, resourcefulness and courage in reporting, skill in relating the story, and the impact of the coverage.

The Neilma Sidney Short Fiction Prize, supported by the Malcolm Robertson Foundation, recognizes outstanding short fiction in a topical subject area. The judged selections are announced the second Wednesday of each month, with the winning story published in Overland magazine. This year’s judges were Patrick Lenton, Alice Bishop, and Sara Saleh.